Constructed in April 2012, Sengu museum was built in conjunction with the 62nd rebuilding of the shrine, when the shrine sanctuary, religious attire and the divine treasures are given a renewal. The gods are moved into the reconstructed shrines and the old buildings are demolished. The timber remains and materials from the old shrine are redistributed to shrines in other parts of Japan and reused in regions that are stricken by earthquakes or other disasters. Originated more than 1300 years ago, this ceremony, also known as Shikinen Sengu, is held every 20 years and is the largest and most significant event held in Ise Jingu. Situated right at the outer entrance of Geku, the museum provides convenient access to visitors as they do not have to travel far away from the shrine. As all except the descendants of the Emperor are prohibited to step into main sanctuary of the inner shrine (Naiku), a visit to the museum makes one’s trip highly enriching as it houses magnificent exhibits including the miniature model of the off-limits area obscured behind the high walls and an exact reproduction of the main sanctuary of the building (shoden). Soak in the rich history of how Japanese architectural beauty have evolved over the years and learn more about the traditional craftsmanship involved in this major event. Visitors can also get a close view of the production process of special clothing, divine treasures such as swords and mirrors.
[onemap name=”Sengukan” address=”Toyokawa-machi 126-1, Ise-shi, Mie 516-0042″ lat=”34.487318″ lng=”136.706925″]
|Address||Toyokawa-machi 126-1, Ise-shi, Mie 516-0042|
|Open||9am-4.30pm (Last Entry 4pm)|
|Fixed holiday||Every 4th Tues of the month (or next day if Tues is a holiday)|
|Access||5-mins walk from Ise-shi Station/5-mins drive from Ise-nishi Interchange|
|Parking||Tens of sets|